Planning Commission


Plan of Conservation & Development

One of the main functions of the Planning Commission is the compilation of the Plan of Conservation and Development. The recently updated 2011 plan (PDF) provides the framework for guiding growth to maintain and improve Westbrook in ways its citizens find most desirable. 

All proposed municipal improvements, special permit applications and proposed amendments to the Zoning Regulations are reviewed for consistency with the plan. While the recommendations in the Plan of Conservation and Development are advisory, basing decisions for the town's future on a comprehensive plan increases the likelihood of retaining qualities that make the town special and attaining desired goals. 

By state statute, the plan must be updated every 10 years in order to be eligible for state discretionary funding.

Subdivision of Land

The Commission has regulatory jurisdiction over the subdivision of land. Subdivision is defined as the division of a tract or parcel of land into 3 or more lots. The subdivision regulations are intended to ensure that land, when subdivided can be used for building purposes without danger to health and safety or degradation of the environment. 

An important component of subdivision plans is the laying out of new town roads and designation of Open Space within new residential developments.

Expressing Your Opinions

To express your opinion on any matters that come before the commission, email the commission. You must include your full name, local address and phone number.


  • 7 p.m.
  • 2nd Monday of every month
  • Mulvey Municipal Center
    Multi-Media Room
    866 Boston Post Road
    Westbrook, CT 06498

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes | View Agendas and Minutes From 2014 and Olde


All Board meetings except for Executive Sessions are open to the public.

Public comment is permitted at the start and conclusion of each meeting. 

Term Expires
Marilyn Ozols
(D) CH
William Neal
(D) Vice Chair
Phil Bassett
(R) Secretary
Tammy Niedwiecki
Eric Reeve
Marie Farrell
(D) Alt
Sheryl Becker
(U) Alt
Richard Newberg
(R) Alt

June 2019

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
26 27 28 29 30 31 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 1 2 3 4 5 6
View All