Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
If you sold your car and turned your license plates in at the Department of Motor Vehicles, get a receipt. The Assessor will need that receipt to adjust your bill to reflect only the months you actually owned the car. If you lost, or did not keep, your Department of Motor Vehicle receipt, please contact the Assessor's office (860) 399-3045) to discuss what documentation is acceptable to prove you no longer own the vehicle.
Show All Answers
Tax bills can be paid using cash, a check or a credit card. There is a 2.5% fee when using a credit card and a $2.00 fee for a bank check.
Payments can be mailed to the Tax Collector's Office, dropped in the outside drop box located at the front door of the Westbrook Town Hall, paid in person or additionally, paid online at http://www.westbrookct.us.
If paying in person, be sure to bring your entire bill with you.
If paying by mail, enclose the entire bill along with a self-addressed stamped envelope along with your check - a receipt will be mailed to you.
For any given year:
IF either of these dates fall on a Saturday or a Sunday, then the last day to pay is the Monday that immediately follows.
IF you bank online, there is no documentation for your payment. Your payment may be considered late and interest will be charged accordingly since State Statutes require a postmark.
IF you drop your payment in the drop box at the front door of the town hall, it will be considered an on-time payment if the following business day is not past the due-date.
Taxes that are not paid on time will be subject to a $2.00 minimum or 1.5% interest on unpaid tax for each month the bill goes unpaid - retroactive to the original due date.
This is per Connecticut State Statute §12-146.
Real Estate liens by Connecticut State Statute §12-175 must be placed with the Town Clerk no later than 2 years from the first due date.
In Westbrook, "Notice with Intent to Lien" notices are sent out at the beginning of April of each year. It is for taxes that were due on July 1st of the previous year.
If taxes are not paid by May 30th, a Real Estate Lien will be filed with the Westbrook Town Clerk.
It is your responsibility to call the tax collector's office at (860) 399-3043 and obtain your tax bill. Failure to receive a tax bill does NOT invalidate the bill or any interest which may accrue. This is per Connecticut State Statute §12-130.
You must notify the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 48 hours so future tax bills can be sent to your proper (new) address.
Since taxes are in arrears, you should notify the Westbrook tax office.
Motor Vehicle bills are based on any given October 1. For example: if you live in Westbrook on October 1st but move to Middletown on October 2nd, you tax bill is due in full to Westbrook. Failure to receive a tax bill does NOT invalidate the bill or any interest which may accrue. This is per Connecticut State Statute §12-130.
If you no longer escrow your taxes, it is your responsibility to notify the tax office and request a bill.
Banks do not notify the tax office when they are no longer escrowing for any particular property.
Any outstanding taxes must be paid before a vehicle can be registered:
The mill rate is the amount of tax payable per dollar of the assessed value of a property.
The mill rate is based on "mills." It is a figure that represents the amount per $1,000 (1/1,000) of the assessed value of property, which is used to calculate the amount of property tax.
The mill rate is typically set in May of each year following the passage of the annual budget.